top of page

HOME-OFFICE is a research and design collaborative that explores the reciprocity between architectural types, their technical assemblies, and the environment. HOME-OFFICE was founded by Brittany Utting and Daniel Jacobs in 2017 and is based in Houston, Texas.

Brittany Utting is an Assistant Professor of Architecture at Rice University and co-founder of the research and design collaborative HOME-OFFICE. Her work examines the relationship between architecture, collective life, and environmental care. She is the editor of the book Architectures of Care: From the Intimate to the Common (Routledge, 2023), co-editor of the forthcoming Log 60: The Sixth Sphere (Winter/Spring 2024), and co-curator of the exhibition The Sixth Sphere (2024). Brittany was a MacDowell Fellow in Architecture and a Willard A. Oberdick Fellow at the University of Michigan’s Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning. She holds a Master of Architecture from Yale University and a Bachelor of Science in Architecture from the Georgia Institute of Technology. Brittany is a registered architect in New York, and prior to co-founding HOME-OFFICE she practiced at Thomas Phifer and Partners as project designer for the Museum of Modern Art in Warsaw.

​Daniel Jacobs is an Instructional Assistant Professor in Architecture at the University of Houston and co-founder of HOME-OFFICE. His research and writing centers around the labor production and material ecologies of the built environment. He has previously served as the secretary of the National Organizing Committee of the Architecture Lobby, taught as a Lecturer at Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning at the University of Michigan, and practiced as an Associate at SHoP Architects in New York.  Daniel received his Master of Architecture from the Yale University School of Architecture and a B.S. in Architecture from Washington University in St. Louis. Daniel is a registered architect in Texas and New York.  


​Current Team:

​Anna Brancaccio, Nino Chen, Yao Xiao

​Past Team Members:

Maximilien Chong Lee Shin, Jianing Cui, Andrew Jiao, Christopher Sanders, Jane Van Velden, Michelle Schneider, Jared Widner, Tiffany Xu, Clara Núñez-Regueiro, Leah Hong, Emma Scott, Brian Baksa, Madison Strakele, Michael Paul

bottom of page